Today it was impossible to convert a server (Windows 2003 Std. with SP2, x86) to the Hyper-V with VMM 2008 R2 SP1, till I found a solution.

The error was:

Error (13243)
The snapshot creation failed because VSS writer {e8132975-6f93-4464-a53e-1050253ae220} on source machine server.domain.local did not respond within the expected time interval.
(Internal error code: 0x809933BB)

Recommended Action
Ensure that VSS writer is functioning properly and then try the operation again.

image

I tried a couple of things:

  • I was checking, with the command vssadmin list writers if every writer was OK.  – The System Writer was missing.
  • I tried to register once again, but it was not working. The command would be:

CD c:\windows\system32

Takeown /f %windir%\winsxs\filemaps\* /a

icacls %windir%\winsxs\filemaps\*.* /grant "NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(RX)"

icacls %windir%\winsxs\filemaps\*.* /grant "NT Service\trustedinstaller:(F)"

icacls %windir%\winsxs\filemaps\*.* /grant "BUILTIN\Users:(RX)"

  • I stopped the SQL VSS writer with no effect.
  • I tried also to start the cryptsvc, but I got back an error that it could not be started.

The cryptsvc was deactivated. Without that, the system writer will not start. So the solution for me was only to change the service to automatic and start it. Zwinkerndes Smiley

